Start Menu   Leave a comment

My favourite part of a game. The start menu, or page, where I agonize for minutes over the name of my character. Eventually going with the standard ‘H e r o’ orĀ  ‘L i n k’, for all my efforts of thinking of something cooler. And so this blog begins with a start ‘menu’, though the agonizing ended with the receipt of the confirmation e-mail from Word Press. Introduction time.

I am a late 20-something, I am a girl, and I am a gamer. Of sorts. Naturally, I have other interests (like writing and the Internet!) but I play video games to some degree a lot. When I was a kid, it was console games. The only PC we owned only having a 256k memory on board. Atari, Nintendo, Game Boy. I was and always will be, a Square fan girl. After a long hiatus from games, I got back into them after I got married. My husband, let’s call him Captain Diligence (he’s a diligent player), gave me his copy of EverQuest 2: Echoes of Fayder in late 2006. “You’ll either really love this, or really hate this”, he told me. And four years later (yes, four *shame*) I’m still playing.

Webster.com defines lazy in the following manner:

disinclined to activity or exertion : not energetic or vigorous

Why the ‘Lazy’ gamer? Well, because I am a lazy gamer. I listen to a game podcast or two, and talk about new titles with Captain D., I even get excited for them. We both love Steam more than is humanly healthy. I even buy games, mostly casual games (I really like those hidden object titles from Big Fish). But at the end of the day, I’ll play some of these games for five minutes, or never load them up at all. I heave a resigned sigh, and launch EverQuest 2. I have copies of 3-D Dot Game Heroes and Final Fantasy XIII collecting dust. Even the collector’s edition of Final Fantasy XII that only Captain D. has played. But I am a slave to Sony Online Entertainment, and I’m too lazy to quit (not that I haven’t tried a few times).

A girl who loves games, but is too lazy to play them.

Posted September 19, 2010 by lazygamergirl in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

